Is Compiz-Fusion A Good Reason To Try Linux?

August 10, 2008

Theres more than just eyecandy:

It All Started With Compiz. The very first time I took what was then known as Compiz for a spin on Dapper, I could not get over how cool the experienced seemed. But after a few days, then weeks, then months, as I upgraded to Edgy, I opted to take something known as Beryl for a spin. It was supposed to have some of the cool features offered by then Compiz, but with even more effects and eye candy.

As of just last month, I finally decided that I had enough of the ‘special effects.’ My reasons were many, but the two most important ones were as follows. I run a help site for beginners looking to migrate away from Windows over to numerous flavors of Linux. Growing tired of the same questions related to the same problems, I decided that it was time for me to lead by example. I needed to make running Metacity (GNOME) cool again, without the compositing, cube spinning, and problematic silliness.
[…]
To be clear, I believe you should be using Linux for intelligent reasons: secure, free and customized to suit your needs.

:: Reviews : Is Compiz-Fusion A Good Reason To Try Linux?

Blogged with the Flock Browser

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

